Humboldt County Office of Education: HCOE Holds Inaugural CTE Humboldt Student Recognition Banquet

HCOE Holds Inaugural CTE Humboldt Student Recognition Banquet

HCOE Holds Inaugural CTE Humboldt Student Recognition Banquet

Eureka (May 8, 2024) – Thirty high school students, representing 11 schools and programs, who have completed pathways in 11 different Career Technical Education (CTE) industry sectors were honored at an in-person ceremony at the Sequoia Conference Center in Eureka on Wednesday, May 8th.

Students were nominated by their high school CTE teacher to be awarded the honored title of “Outstanding Pathway Completer”. To be considered for the award, students had to fit the following criteria: be a CTE pathway completer, have an outstanding project to be showcased, make an impact in their pathway and program, exhibit leadership qualities, behave professionally, and be career-ready.

Tanya Trump, the Humboldt County Office of Education (HCOE) Career and College Resources Department Director remarked, “CTE provides students not only with career and academic skills, but also skills that are critical to success in the workplace such as teamwork, communication, critical thinking, leadership, creativity, and innovation. The students recognized tonight have committed a minimum of two years to their CTE program and have demonstrated the qualities desired in the workforce. We are so glad to have this opportunity to honor them tonight.”

Michael Davies-Hughes, Humboldt County Superintendent of Schools is pleased to elevate these students, “It is such a pleasure to honor students in this way.  Career and Technical Education is critical in ensuring that students are prepared for their preferred future. We celebrate the accomplishments of these thirty students and acknowledge that our future workforce is in good hands!”

HCOE expresses gratitude to the generous donors that helped make this scholarship possible: American Ag Credit, Coast Central Credit Union, Compass Credit Union, Harper Motors, Los Bagels, O&M Industries, Pierson Building Center, Redwood Capital Bank, Wing Inflatables and The Mill Yard.

Ann Marie Rocha, Program and Event Coordinator for the Career and College Resources Department at the Humboldt County Office of Education expressed her gratitude to the teachers and students who aided in the success of the evening. “A huge thank you to the teachers and their students who supplied the food and flowers for the event. Thank you to the culinary programs that created the appetizers:  Theresa Noga and the Ferndale High School Farm to Table Class; Tiffany Bullman, and the McKinleyville High School Culinary Arts Class; and Neil Kalson and the Arcata High School Culinary Arts Class. As well as the amazing floral arrangements that were created by Alexa Alexandre and the Ferndale High School Floral Design Department, Kara Forbes and the Eureka High School Floral Design Department, and Lindsey Kleiner and the Fortuna High School Floral Design Department.”

Congratulations to the 2024 CTE Humboldt Student Recognition Team!

  1. Jacoby Roth, Arcata High School
  2. Kaleb Retzloff, Arcata High School
  3. Oliver Gomes, Arcata High School
  4. Jocelyn Hague, Arcata High School
  5. Taylor Nada, Arcata High School
  6. Lillian Ledford, Arcata High School
  7. Natalie Rogers, Eureka High School
  8. Clark Green, Eureka High School
  9. Robert Williams, Eureka High School
  10. Ryan Pleasant, Eureka High School
  11. MaKade Parker, Eureka High School
  12. Ayden Christensen, Ferndale High School
  13. Brynn Luna, Ferndale High School
  14. Clara Christiansen, Ferndale High School
  15. Gunner Bertain, Fortuna High School
  16. Loryn Hunter, Fortuna High School
  17. Zoe Atwood, Fortuna High School
  18. Johnny Johnson, Fortuna High School
  19. Rilen Rickwalt, Hoopa Valley High School
  20. Kylee Moreland-Baker, McKinleyville High School
  21. Willy Patton, McKinleyville High School
  22. Sorren Rogers, McKinleyville High School
  23. Emma Sobehrad, McKinleyville High School
  24. Roenn Doran, McKinleyville High School
  25. Skylar Gaytan, South Fork High School
  26. Cienna Zambo, South Fork High School
  27. Jaxon Beam, Alder Grove Charter School
  28. Harvey Beard, Northern United-Humboldt Charter School
  29. Catarina Freitas, Northern United-Humboldt Charter School
  30. Konstance Raines, Pacific View Charter School

To learn more about CTE Humboldt visit,

CONTACT:  Contact: Ann Marie Rocha, Program and Event Coordinator, Humboldt County Office of Education, 707-441-3954