## TRUSTEE AREAS

The Board of Education shall consist of five members elected by the electors of the several trustee areas of the county. Each board member shall be an elector of the trustee area which he/she represents and shall be elected by the electors of the trustee area which he/she represents. The five trustee areas follow the boundaries established for the five members of the County Board of Supervisors.

Trustee areas of Humboldt County are as follows:

## **Trustee Area 1**

Trustee Area 1 generally consists of southern Eureka (approximately Harris Street south), Cutten-Ridgewood, Pine Hill, Humboldt Hill, King Salmon, Fields Landing, the west side of Tompkins Hill Road and the South Bay, including the South Spit. The boundary continues through Loleta, Ferndale, Petrolia, and Honeydew. Elk River, the Lost Coast and the mouth of the Eel River are also in Trustee Area 1.

School Districts: Eureka, Cutten, Ferndale, Fortuna, Fortuna High, Loleta, Mattole, South Bay.

#### **Trustee Area 2**

Trustee Area 2 generally consists of Fortuna and all areas south to the Mendocino County border. From Fortuna east, it extends to the Trinity County border, which includes Bridgeville. Other communities included are Garberville, Redway, Alderpoint, Whitethorn, Shelter Cove, Miranda, Redcrest, Myers Flat, Weott, Scotia, Rio Dell, Shively and Stafford.

School Districts: Bridgeville, Cuddeback, Fortuna, Fortuna High, Hydesville, Rio Dell, Scotia, Southern Humboldt.

## **Trustee Area 3**

Trustee Area 3 generally consists of the greater Arcata area, out the North Spit through Manila to the Samoa Bridge, from Arcata south to the city of Eureka.

School Districts: Arcata, Eureka, Freshwater, Garfield, Kneeland, Jacoby Creek, Northern Humboldt, Pacific Union, Peninsula.

#### **Trustee Area 4**

Trustee Area 4 generally consists of the greater Eureka area, including Mid-City development and Samoa and Fairhaven on the Peninsula.

School Districts: Eureka, Freshwater, Jacoby Creek, Northern Humboldt, Peninsula.

### **Trustee Area 5**

Trustee Area 5 generally consists of the area north of the Mad River Bridge on Highway 101, including McKinleyville, Fieldbrook, Trinidad, Westhaven, Big Lagoon, Orick, and north to the Del Norte County border. The mouth of the Mad River is in Trustee Area 5. To the east on Highway 299, the Area includes Blue Lake, Korbel, Willow Creek, and communities to the Trinity County border. To the northeast on Highway 96 to the Siskiyou County border, the Area includes Hoopa, Weitchpec and Orleans.

School Districts: Arcata, Big Lagoon, Blue Lake, Green Point, Fieldbrook, Klamath-Trinity, Maple Creek, McKinleyville, Northern Humboldt, Orick, Pacific Union, Trinidad.

Trustee Areas may be verified by using the District Locator on the Humboldt County Office of Education website as follows:

Start with the homepage, <u>www.humboldt.k12,ca.us</u>, then:

- 1) Go to Information for Parents and Community (to the right). In the box marked Information on K-12 Schools, select District Locator. Select the city, the street, and search for the address, or
- 2) From the homepage, select School Districts (on the bottom left). Then select District Locator (near the top, left)
  Select the city, the street, and search for the address.

Once the address is located, click on the address, and a screen will appear with information related to that address including the Humboldt County Board of Education Trustee area.

Trustee area boundaries shall be adjusted after each decennial federal census. This adjustment shall be made by March 1 of the year after the census results are released. The area boundaries will follow the boundaries established for the five County Supervisorial Districts.

# Legal reference:

EDUCATION CODE

1000 Composition; trustee areas
1001 Eligible voters
1002 Trustee area boundaries

Bylaw HUMBOLDT COUNTY OFFICE OF EDUCATION

Adopted: February 19, 1992 Eureka, California

Revised: May 21, 2014