Humboldt County Office of Education: Excellence in Teaching/Jean Olson Awards

HCOE Awards Section Header

Excellence in Teaching Logo
The Excellence in Teaching Award honors Humboldt County credentialed transitional kindergarten through 12th grade classroom teachers who have shown personal qualities and professional expertise indicative of an exceptional teacher.
The Jean Olson Career Achievement Award recognizes veteran Humboldt County transitional kindergarten through 12th grade teachers for lifelong contributions to students, educators and their communities. The award memorializes longtime Humboldt County Board of Education member and community volunteer, Jean Olson, who passed away in 1998.
Logo for Humboldt County Teacher of the Year

Each year, one recipient of the Excellence in Teaching award is chosen as Humboldt County’s Teacher of the Year. The honoree is recognized by the Board of Education, and has a chance to vie for the California State Teacher of the Year.

Classified Employee of the Year Logo
The Classified Employees of the Year Awards pays tribute to the tireless efforts of our County’s outstanding classified school employees. From school bus drivers to cafeteria workers to instructional aides, these employees are the unsung heroes who play key roles in creating a school environment that contributes to the whole child by promoting student achievement, safety, and health.
HCOE Awards Program Coordinator: Stacy Young | 707-445-7077 |