The Humboldt County Board of Education consists of five elected members. Each board member represents a trustee area that corresponds to a geographical region of the county. Trustees are elected only by voters residing within their respective trustee areas. After the decennial federal census, trustee areas may be reapportioned to assure that populations within the areas remain nearly equal.


Board of Education Members

Portrait of Board of Education Member Loretta Eckenrode

Loretta Eckenrode, President
Trustee Area 4 | Term Expires 2022
Originally Elected November 2015

Portrait of Board of Education Member Marc Rowley

Marc Rowley
Trustee Area 5 | Term Expires 2020
Originally Appointed February 2005

Image placeholder for staff portrait

Thom McMahon
Trustee Area 3 | Term Expires 2022
Originally Appointed March 2020

Portrait of Board of Education Member Mary Scott

Mary Scott, Vice President
Trustee Area 1 | Term Expires 2022
Originally Appointed May 1998

Portrait of Board of Education Member Robert Siekmann

Robert Siekmann
Trustee Area 2 | Term Expires 2020
Originally Elected December 1976