Humboldt County Office of Education: Excellence in Teaching Award

HCOE Awards Section Header

2023 Excellence in Teaching and Jean Olson Award Winners

The 2023 Excellence in Teaching Award Recipients

Left to right: Superintendent Michael Davies-Hughes, Michelle Merideth-Sutke, Elisabeth Kadle, Jackie Hauger, Diana Howard*, Cathie Shermer, Melissa Seymour, Angela Kidd, Haley Pinochi, Sarita Villanueva, Mary Stone, Greg Rowe, Cori Borges*, Thom McMahon*, Megan Collenberg, Lacey Pope, Kelly Miller, Maureen Sundberg, Catlin Conlin, Tom Davies* (* = Jean Olson Career Achievement Award Recipient)

Awarded by the Humboldt County Superintendent of Schools and the Board of Education to recognize and appreciate credentialed classroom teachers in our schools who have gained the respect and admiration of their fellow teachers for their dedication, enthusiasm, and professional standards and who, by their exemplary careers, have served as role models to students, our teachers of the future.

This program honors Humboldt County credentialed transitional kindergarten through 12th grade classroom teachers who have shown personal qualities and professional expertise indicative of an exceptional teacher. Nominees must:

  • Hold a California teaching credential and have a minimum of 5 years of teaching experience
  • Possess outstanding skills in the areas of classroom management, subject matter content, teaching strategies, and student motivation