Humboldt County Office of Education: 17th Annual Academic Achievement Team Recognized

17th Annual Academic Achievement Team Recognized

17th Annual Academic Achievement Team Recognized

EUREKA (February 29, 2024) –  Twenty-seven high school seniors, representing 13 schools, were honored as the 2024 Humboldt County Academic Achievement Team at an in-person ceremony at the Sequoia Conference Center on Wednesday, February 28th. 

Students were nominated by their high school administrators and counselors to be awarded the honored title. To be considered for the award, students must hold a minimum of a 3.75 grade point average, show academic rigor, and demonstrate involvement in community leadership. 

The 2024 stellar students, Madelyn Shanahan on the left, and Elizabeth Mengel on the right, with Superintendent Michael Davies-HughesAnn Marie Rocha, the Humboldt County Office of Education (HCOE) Program and Event Coordinator remarked, “The process of selecting Humboldt County’s Stellar Student showcases the drive and talent students have, providing hope for a bright future.”

The event’s highlight was the announcement of the Stellar Students for 2024: Elizabeth Mengel of McKinleyville High School and Madelyn Shanahan of St. Bernard’s Academy. These outstanding students demonstrated academic excellence and strong leadership skills.

One remarkable student received an Inspiration Award for overcoming obstacles and setbacks to become a top academic performer while inspiring others. This award was granted to Elijah Griffin of Eureka High School.

Michael Davies-Hughes, Humboldt County Superintendent of Schools, acknowledged the exceptional work displayed by the students, stating,  “I am very proud of the achievements of these young scholars.  They have each achieved so much in their schools and communities.  Their stories are inspirational and their aspirations give us all hope for a bright future in Humboldt County and beyond.”

HCOE distributed scholarships totaling $8,500, with each nominated student receiving a scholarship.

HCOE wishes to express gratitude to Stacy Chatfield and the Fortuna High School Culinary Arts Club for the delectable food, Kelly Miller and the Arcata High School Floral Department for the beautiful flower arrangements, and Ian Hall and the HCOE Trades Academy for the incredible Stellar Student trophies.  

Congratulations to the 2024 Academic Achievement Team, who have proven to be outstanding individuals.

The 2024 Academic Achievement Team: 

  • Danielle Andersen, Eureka High School
  • Chloe Bailey, Ferndale High School
  • Raquel Bell, North Coast Preparatory Academy
  • Asher Bergel, Redwood Coast Montessori
  • Rylee Bremer, South Fork High School
  • Alexander Burgoa Olea, Fortuna High School
  • Matthew Coyle, Academy of the Redwoods
  • Raya Ghaffari, Academy of the Redwoods
  • Elijah Griffin, Eureka High School
  • Jenica Huddleston, Eureka High School
  • Julia Jackson, Hoopa High School
  • Ruby Jordan, McKinleyville High School
  • Solveig Lyssand, Eureka High School
  • Elizabeth Mengel, McKinleyville High School
  • Alexandra Morris, Arcata High School
  • Taylor Nada, Arcata High School
  • Sasha Neyra, Arcata High School
  • Andrew Paul, Northern United Humboldt Charter School
  • Owen Peterson, Arcata High School
  • Shaylee Rieff, Fortuna High School
  • Kai Riggs Turpin, Eureka High School
  • Phoebe Ryno Moore, Six Rivers Charter School
  • Tyler Schlesiger, Fortuna High School
  • Madelyn Shanahan, St. Bernard’s Academy
  • Emma Sobehrad, McKinleyville High School
  • Tylah Tulmau, Eureka High School
  • Carolyn Van Mantgem, Arcata High School

To learn more about HCOE’s Academic Achievement and Stellar Student Awards, visit or contact Ann Marie Rocha at or (707) 441-3954.

Administration Office

Natalie Carrigan
Executive Assistant to the Superintendent

Press Inquiries

Natalie Carrigan
Executive Assistant to the Superintendent