Humboldt County Office of Education: Academic Achievement Team

Academic Achievement Team & Stellar Student Awards

Recognizing and showcasing the scholastic success of Humboldt County students

The 2024 Academic Achievement Team

Back row: Elijah Griffin, Carolyn Van Mantgem, Solveig Lyssand, William Bergel, Madelyn Shanahan, Owen Peterson, Kai Riggs Turpin, Raquel Bell, Rylee Bremer. Second row: Ann Marie Rocha, Tyler Schlesinger, Danielle Anderson, Jenica Huddleston, Alexander Burgoa-Olea, Chloe Bailey, Emma Sobehrad, Alexandra Morris, Sasha Neyra, Phoebe Ryno Moore, Ruby Jordan, Elizabeth Mengel, Raya Ghaffari, Mathew Coyle, Michael Davies-Hughes. Bottom row: Tylah Tulmau, Shaylee Rieff, Andrew Paul, Taylor Nada. Not pictured: Julia Jackson

The Academic Achievement Program

For the past 17 years the Academic Achievement program has recognized approximately 25 outstanding high school seniors. Each fall, Humboldt County administrators are asked to nominate their top senior (s) based on their exceptional academic records, demonstrated application of their academic skills, and noteworthy involvement in leadership and community activities. 

Each candidate has demonstrated a commitment to learning and involvement both inside and outside the classroom. In their community they are volunteers, leaders, and agents for change. 

All the nominees are invited to complete an application, submit essays, and be interviewed to determine which student (or students) have achieved the exceptional designation of “Stellar Student.” In early Spring, HCOE hosts an Awards Ceremony to recognize and celebrate all Academic Achievement nominees and announce the Stellar Student (s). Roughly $8,000 in scholarships are presented, as each the nominee receives a $300 scholarship, the Stellar Student Award(s) provides an additional $200 scholarship. 

The Academic Achievement program provides a process of honoring the top performing students who achieve beyond their school community with monetary scholarships, community recognition, and validation of the young scholars’ successes. 

The 2023 Stellar Students - Giovani Dolson Gonzalez and Kyra Alway, with Superintendent Michael Davies-Hughes

2024 Stellar Student Award Winners: Madelyn Shanahan, St. Bernard’s Academy; HCOE Superintendent of Schools Michael Davies-Hughes; Elizabeth Mengel, McKinleyville High

2025 Awards Ceremony

Wednesday, March 5
Sequoia Conference Center

Program Contact

Ann Marie Rocha
707-441-3954 |